Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Updated Roster news/thoughts

**NOT ACTUALLY RACIST
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    440 Posts

Updated Roster news/thoughts (ux3)

The bench is pretty well set, except for one spot. Gerald Laird (C, ATL), Ryan Doumit (C/1B/OF), Jordan Schafer (OF, ATL) and Ramiro Pena (INF, ATL) are expected to be on the Opening Day roster. It will be interesting to see who gets that final roster slot.

Tyler Pastornicky (SS/2B/OF, ATL) is the leading candidate at this point. A shortstop by trade, he has worked in the outfield over the past year and he reportedly has done a solid job there defensively. That added versatility may give him the edge in the competition. It’s worth noting that he will miss the ten or so spring games as he rehabs from August surgery to repair a torn ACL in his left knee.

Joey Terdoslavich (OF/1B, ATL) saw his chances of making the Opening Day roster take a hit with the team’s acquisition of Doumit. Terdoslavich is a corner outfielder and first baseman so he and Doumit overlap. Still, it’s possible that the team could go with the switch-hitter, if he has a good spring. It’s more likely that they would prefer to have him getting regular playing time at Triple-A, so that he’ll be ready to step in if Freddie Freeman (1B, ATL) or one of the starting outfielders is forced to miss an extended period of time. Terdoslavich’s overall stat line in the majors isn’t much to look at, but he hit .318/.359/.567 with 18 HR and 3 SB in 321 AB with Triple-A Gwinnett last year. Manager Fredi Gonzalez said recently that Terdoslavich will get work at catcher this spring and possibly at Gwinnett this year as they look to increase his position flexibility.

Jose Constanza (OF, ATL) is another player in the mix for a job. He possesses good speed and a solid glove at all three outfield positions. The 30-year-old has a .278/.322/.329 with 2 HR and 12 SB in 236 career major league PA.