Page 1 of 1480 12311511015011001 ... LastLast

Thread: The Coronavirus, not the beer

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    2,063 Posts

The Coronavirus, not the beer

I learned a new word today: intubate - insert a tube into (a person or a body part, especially the trachea for ventilation).

The new Calf patient who doesn't know how she contracted the virus has been intubated, meaning she is in serious condition and having trouble breathing. That sounds a lot worse than the flu.

I'm no expert but I teach once a week at a hospital in Japan and one of my students is a respiratory/lung surgeon. He said washing your hands often, at least once an hour, was the best protection. He explained to me that the virus cells attach to the body via fat cells and that keeping your hands squeaky clean, almost smelling of soap, would deny the virus cells a way in.

Somehow the virus has been slow to spread in Japan and has yet to reach my prefecture, or at least there are no official cases yet.
    FFF - BB, BB, 2B, HR, 2B, HR, 1B, BB, BB, 1B, BB, BB, HR

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    7,532 Posts
    Wash hands and dont touch nose, mouth and eyes.

Sabermetric Slut
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    5,830 Posts
    I suspect there are quite a few cases in the states that arent being reported. Only the super serious ones that require hospitalization and demand testing for it.

The good news is that the current death rate of 3% is likely inflated due to the likelihood of under reported cases but still much worse than the seasonal flu.

**NOT ACTUALLY RACIST
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    440 Posts
    If it really hits North Korea it could end up horrific for them. With all the famine and inadequate medical services over there, the last thing they need is this.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    2,063 Posts